镜头后的男人:专访摄影师Ali G

本期我们专访了香港知名摄影师Ali G。 Ali是常驻香港的摄影师,最擅长拍摄奢华婚礼、婚前派对、公司活动、人物肖像以及其他商拍活动。

作为香港最有名的摄影师之一,Ali G拍摄过无数作品,从名人明星、景物、宣传活动、到婚礼、和产品等等。本期我们来问问这位镜头后的男人一些有趣问题吧!

入行多年,现在还有什么事情能给你带来兴奋感吗?
Ali G: 现在摄影最让我兴奋的是手机镜头技术和5G时代的快速发展。现在竞争很激烈,手机传感器功能一代比一代更强大。比如小米即将推出的突破性一亿像素摄像镜头手机,我很期待看到苹果,索尼,叁星,谷歌和华为将会推出什么产品回击!

你在兰桂坊附近拍摄过活动吗?感受如何?
是的我拍了很多年兰桂坊的活动,包括全香港每年最重要的盛事活动之一——万圣节,万圣节期间总是有很多精彩瞬间值得被留念。我曾经为了LVMH的项目拍摄凯哥香槟(Veuve Clicquot),一天之内跑了五个场地。光是设计行程和路线就花了几天时间。

你希望通过镜头寻找什么?
一般来说,我希望自己的摄影里能出现人的元素,所以我会尽可能寻找人群为我的照片增色。在大型活动里,其他摄影师的闪光灯不会对我造成困扰,因为你会拍下很多照片,我们会为客户挑选其中最好的照片。

拍摄美食和饮品最难的地方是什么?
拍摄美食和饮品最关键的是灯光和时机。如果没有提前准备或没有经验,很难拍出食物的新鲜和自然光泽。普通照片和优秀照片之间可能只差在灯光。以上两点我在自己的摄影工作坊里经常会强调。近日我正在制作短视频,在Youtube教授摄影技巧和方法。如何拍好食物也是其中一个主题。

你最喜欢兰桂坊哪个地方?
兰桂坊有这么多好玩有趣的地方,很难只选出一个。这里的氛围活力四射,不仅能参加丰富多彩的主题活动,还能结识到城中的潮流人士

阅读更多: 兰桂坊地下酒吧

你更喜欢拍摄人物、产品还是风景?
绝对是人物!这也是我为什么专注于婚礼、活动和肖像拍摄的原因。如果客人希望我帮忙拍摄产品,我也会同意。每次旅程,我都能享受捕捉当地风土人情和自然美景的好时机。

Ali G-Hong Kong Night Landscape

能否分享一下你最喜欢的人物摄影作品?以及喜欢的原因?
我最喜欢的是这张甄子丹和基努·李维斯面对面的照片,被媒体称为“叶问 大战 黑客帝国”。这张照片为我今后的红毯和活动摄影工作奠定了基调。另一张是我在1996年访问奥运村期间,拍摄了美国前总统克林顿的照片。那张照片是用一台35mm胶片相机拍摄的,近距离拍到了很多细节。

Donnie Yen and Keanu Reeves

有什么给刚入行的摄影师的建议吗?
我一直和年轻摄影师们说,我们不是在做摄影的生意,我们是在做人的生意。对你的摄影器材了如指掌很容易,但是和客人或是拍摄对象沟通的能力才是最重要的。让他们信任你,在你的镜头前自然流露出最美好的一面。

你觉得最大的挑战是什麽?
相比起摄影技巧层面上的挑战,我觉得婚礼摄影工作是难度更高的挑战。因为涉及到人,和他们丰富的情绪变化,加上婚礼场地不同的灯光设置,现场总是有很多变数和惊喜。能捕捉这些珍贵又特别的时刻对我来说很重要。

社交平台兴起和新科技出现很多大程度影响了摄影圈,你还有继续购买新的摄影设备吗?
感谢我的灯光赞助商Phottix的支持,让我能不断接触和使用最新的灯光技术。我是尼康用户,但也会使用索尼和徕卡相机,以及Zeiss、Sigma和Tamron的镜头等。

在工作室,我们喜欢紧跟时下最热门的社交媒体趋势。这些社交平台不仅是我们主要的营销方式,对於我的手机摄影教学工作,以及社交媒体工作坊也很重要。如今的世界已经不容任何人低估社交媒体的力量了,我们作为人类,社交和沟通更是生活中必不可少的部分。也许15-20年后,Instagram、Facebook、微博已经不复存在,但也会有其他社交媒体更新换代,所以必须适应这个数字媒体化的社会。

数码时代,你还会怀念胶片摄影的年代吗?
从商业角度来看,我一点也不怀念那个时候。数码时代更加高效,尤其对于后期制作和照片处理来说更是如此。像Adobe和Luminar这些图片编辑软件丰富的功能总是能让人很兴奋。

但从个人角度来说,我是很怀念那个需要耐心完成摄影的年代。比如印度式婚礼是五光十色的,而当你需要强调照片主体的时候,巧妙利用黑白照片也是一个不错的方法。

有哪些想拍但还没拍过的人或事物?
我很想拍摄Al Pacino!能拍到戛纳电影节上幕后的精彩瞬间和群星闪耀的红地毯活动也是我的愿望之一。说到新的商业机会和旅行,我希望去中国,感受其悠久的历史,人文和文化。我相信新一代的中国消费者非常聪明,重视质量,这正和我的摄影风格不谋而合。

阅读更多: 跟著这些Instagram博主发现不同的香港

你和数不清的客人合作过,现在还有时间接个人客户的工作吗?
当然有!不管是个人客户还是创意项目都能让我锻炼视野和技术。我对于灯光设备的应用、以及在婚礼上拍摄的方式,都来自我平日和舞者、艺术家合作以及街头摄影中累积的经验。我很喜欢手机摄影,一有时间就会带上手机出门。

Ali G

想观看Ali G的独家专访,请点击此处

Ali G Studios

One of Hong Kong's best-known photographers and videographers, Ali G at Ali G Studios has 30 years' of experience in capturing everything from world leaders and major events to beautiful, colourful shots of weddings. Learn more about his work and the craft behind his photography in this video.香港知名攝影師之一的Ali G,攝影師生涯超過30年,並開設了Ali G Studios,擅長拍攝政界名人,大型活動及婚禮。觀看以下短片了解更多他的工作以及照片背後的故事吧!#LKF #LanKwaiFong #HK #HKPhotography #HongKong #AliG #AliGStudios #Photography

Posted by Lan Kwai Fong HK 蘭桂坊 on Monday, August 19, 2019

登陆Ali G的官方网站 aligstudios.com,了解他的丰富履历。

本文图片所有权归Ali G所有。

发表评论

avatar
  订阅  
提醒

The Man behind the Camera: Ali G

Our exclusive chat with one of the most prolific photographers in Hong Kong, the notorious G, Ali G.

Ali G is ready to shoot you. One of the city’s most well-known photographers (born Ali Ghorbani but mostly known simply as AliG) has an expansive portfolio, as he’s covered stars, still-life, campaigns, wedding, product shots and so much more over his tenacious tenure in Hong Kong. We had so many questions for the man behind the lens who has heard it all, seen it all and shot them all!

You’ve been doing photography for years now – what still excites you about it now?
Ali G: What excites me about photography now is the rapid development of mobile phone camera technology and 5G. The race is on for better, faster and more powerful sensors in mobile phones. Xiaomi is about to deliver a ground-breaking 100 Mega Pixel phone camera, and I’m excited to see what Apple, Sony, Samsung, Google and Huawei will bring to the market!

Have you shot around Lan Kwai Fong during events – what was the experience like?
Yes, I’ve shot around Lank Kwai Fong for years, including Halloween, which is by far the biggest party of the year in Hong Kong and its always great fun to shoot. I had to shoot in five venues around LKF on the same night for Veuve Clicquot as part of a big project for LVMH. It took a few days of planning on my part to make sure I have all my routes and access points properly mapped out.

What do you look for in a shot?
In general, I like to include a human factor into my photography when possible so I would actually look for angles in which the crowd can add value to my photos. Other flashes are not an issue in big events as we end up taking lots of photos anyway and then we choose the best ones for the client.

What are the challenges when you are shooting food and drink for example?
The biggest challenges for food and drinks are lighting and timing. If you are not prepared and experienced, it’s very easy for the food to lose its freshness and lustre. Proper lighting also makes the difference between an average photo and a great photo. These are two important points I teach in my photography workshops. In fact, I am making a series of short videos for YouTube with photography tips and tricks. Food photography will be one of the subjects covered.

Do you have a favourite venue at Lan Kwai Fong?
It’s hard to choose one venue as the vibrancy and variety of venues and people in Lan Kwai Fong make it one of my favourite locations for photography. Whether it’s for events or people, LKF has something for everyone!

Read More: The Hidden Bars of Lan Kwai Fong

Do you prefer to shoot people, product, or landscape? 
I’m a people person! That’s why I have specialised in weddings, events and portraits. However, when some clients ask for product shots, I will do it for them. When traveling, I really enjoy capturing local life and landscapes as well.

Ali G-Hong Kong Night Landscape

Tell us about your favourite portraits – what is it about them that makes it so special? 
I have several, but one of my favourites is Donnie Yen facing off with Keanu Reeves was dubbed by the media as ‘Ip Man vs The Matrix.’ It was a photo which set things in motion for my red carpet and event photography. Equally memorable, the photo I took of President Clinton during his visit to the Olympic Village in the 1996 Olympic Games. That photo was shot on a 35mm film camera and I managed to get really close.

Donnie Yen and Keanu Reeves

What’s your advice to aspiring photographers?
I always tell younger photographers, we are not in the business of photography, we are in the business of people. Obviously, one has to know camera equipment inside out, but the ability to communicate with your clients and subjects is key. Make them trust you – that’s what is going to make them give you their business or their best in front of your camera.

What is particularly challenging for you?
Regarding actual skill challenges, I believe wedding photography is very challenging. People and their emotions are involved, there are a variety of lighting scenarios, sometimes there are last minute changes and surprises. I believe in capturing special moments.

Social media and new technology has changed the photography game – are you constantly buying new equipment?
Thanks to the support of my lighting sponsor, Phottix, I am constantly receiving and testing out the newest lighting technologies. I am a Nikon user, but I also have some experience with Sony and Leica cameras, as well as Zeiss, Sigma and Tamron lenses.

At the studio, we love keeping up with the latest social media trends. Not only are these platforms some of our main marketing tools, but they are also a huge part of what I teach in my mobile photography and social media workshops. Anyone who underestimates the power of social media will perish like the dinosaurs. It’s important to understand the fact that we, as human beings, need to socialize and communicate in order to survive. Even if Instagram or Facebook or Weibo are not around in 15-20 years, there will be other social platforms so one must adapt.

In the digital age – do you miss shooting on film?
When it comes to the business aspect, I don’t miss film at all. Digital is much more efficient, especially when it comes to post-production and processing. Some of the latest features of photo editing software from Adobe and Luminar are simply mind blowing.

However, on a personal level, I miss film as it takes much more patience and there’s a therapeutic element to the whole process. I see the world in colour, especially when photographing Indian weddings, but I believe black and white really lends itself well to isolating the main subject of the photograph.

What or who would you like photograph that you haven’t done yet?
I would love to photograph Al Pacino! Capturing the behind-the-scenes and red carpet events at the Cannes Film Festival is also high on my wish list. When it comes to new business opportunities and travel, I would love to discover more of China with its rich history, people and culture. I believe the new generation of Chinese consumers is extremely smart and they understand quality, which is perfect for my style of photography.

Read More: The Best Hong Kong Instagrams You Need to Follow Now

You work with so many clients – do you still get time to work on personal projects?
Yes, absolutely! Working on personal and creative projects is what allows me to grow, both in vision and skill. A lot of the lighting techniques, as well as how I see and compose my photos at weddings, comes from my creative work with dancers, artists and street photography. I’m also a big fan of mobile phone photography, so when I have some free time, I take my phone out for a spin.

Ali G

Check out more in our exclusive interview with Ali G. Watch NOW.

Ali G Studios

One of Hong Kong's best-known photographers and videographers, Ali G at Ali G Studios has 30 years' of experience in capturing everything from world leaders and major events to beautiful, colourful shots of weddings. Learn more about his work and the craft behind his photography in this video.香港知名攝影師之一的Ali G,攝影師生涯超過30年,並開設了Ali G Studios,擅長拍攝政界名人,大型活動及婚禮。觀看以下短片了解更多他的工作以及照片背後的故事吧!#LKF #LanKwaiFong #HK #HKPhotography #HongKong #AliG #AliGStudios #Photography

Posted by Lan Kwai Fong HK 蘭桂坊 on Monday, August 19, 2019

To see Ali G’s extensive portfolio, check out his official website aligstudios.com.
Follow him on instagram at:  https://www.instagram.com/aligphoto/

All images courtesy of Ali G.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of