拯救地球义不容辞| 支持闲置时装再利用

转眼又到秋冬季,是时候整理衣橱了,刚好十月是“Get Redressed Month” 二手衣服升级再造月,断舍离的同时保护地球环境,岂不是一举两得?

你知道时尚行业已经成为全球造成环境污染和资源浪费最严重的行业之一吗?从服装生产到零售,会污染大量淡水,空气以及土地资源。

如今,服装行业的制作和零售周期越来越快,垃圾堆填区的累积速度也快到前所未来。光在香港,每天都有370吨的衣物布料被送去垃圾堆填区。每年累计下来相当于是500座天坛大佛的重量。客观数字让人惊讶,但能给大众敲警钟,避免不必要购物的习惯。现在每人平均拥有衣物的数量比十五年前多了六成。

这就是Redress创立的意义。这个香港慈善机构的目标就是减少时尚行业造成的衣物浪费,延长衣物的使用周期。机构会回收、分类、再造、分配及循环使用被闲置衣物,最大限度地发挥衣物的使用价值,避免它们流向香港的垃圾区。

阅读更多: 从细节开始,拯救我们的生活环境

今年是第二届‘Get Redressed Month’,规模比起去年更大,影响力更广,全港共超过100间企业、学校和商铺参与活动,181个衣物回收点遍布在香港各地。全球只有大约五分之一的衣服会被回收再利用,而Get Redressed Month正在努力增加这个比例,让所有闲置衣服都能遇到新的主人,获得第二次生命。

Dr. Christina Dean of Redress

Redress的创始人Dr. Christina Dean分享到: “作为时尚行业人士,我们需要改变旧习惯。去了解衣服是怎么生产的,怎么最大化利用,以及想丢弃的时候应该做些什么。 Get Redressed Month的宗旨就是提高公众意识以及改变大众浪费衣物的习惯。”

阅读更多: 香港零浪费生活指南

如果你先前的衣橱整理计划一再搁置,本月该行动了。将所有不再喜爱的旧衣服放到全港这181个回收处,其中一个就在兰桂坊。晚上或周末去兰桂坊玩的时候,出门前顺便带上捐赠袋放在兰桂坊1号,捐赠期间从10月14日起持续到25日。点击此处了解详情。

Get Redressed Month结束后Redress会设立24小时分拣平台,将所有捐献衣服分类及再处理,机构今年的目标是为香港减少十吨的废弃衣物

Get Redressed Month在2019年10月举行,了解更多活动资讯可登陆:www.redress.com.hk.

本文图片所有权归各自所有人

发表评论

avatar
  订阅  
提醒

Redress is Saving the World with a Month of Fashion-Focused Environmentalism

Clean out your closets and help the planet (and the community) this October during ‘Get Redressed Month’ 

Did you know that the fashion industry is one of the most polluting in the entire world? That’s right, it’s up there with oil and gas. Between production and distribution, fashion pollutes the water we drink, air we breathe and soil we till.

Clothing is being made and sold faster than ever before, and it’s filling up landfills around the world. Right now, 370 tonnes of textiles are dumped in Hong Kong landfills each day. That’s the equivalent of over 500 Big Buddhas-worth of clothing every year. It’s a shocking statistic, and one that puts our clothing addiction into focus. Consumers are buying 60 per cent more clothing than we were just fifteen years ago.

That’s where Redress comes in. The Hong Kong charity is on a mission to prevent and transform textile waste in the fashion industry by extending the life of clothing. They collect, sort, re-purpose, re-distribute and recycle unwanted clothing, keeping textiles out of landfills and helping charities across the city.

Read more: Sustainable Swaps to Save the Earth

2019 marks the second-ever ‘Get Redressed Month’, and it’s already grown exponentially. For their second edition, they’re working with over 100 companies, schools and clubs to create 181 collection points across the city. Globally, only 20 per cent of clothing is collected for reuse or recycling, and Get Redressed Month aims to change that, giving clothing a useful second life.

Dr. Christina Dean of Redress

“As active fashion citizens, we need to break this cycle.” Says Redress Founder Dr. Christina Dean, “we must know where our clothes come from, how to get the most out of them, and what to do with them if and when we no longer want them. Get Redressed Month is working to do just that – by raising awareness and inspiring positive behavioural changes in our clothing habits.”

Read more: How to Live Zero Waste in Hong Kong

So, if you’ve been putting off a wardrobe overhaul, now is the time to do it. Take all of your pre-loved clothes and drop them off at one of the 181 collection points in Hong Kong, including one in Lan Kwai Fong. Don’t forget to grab your donation bags on your way to the clubs, you can drop them off at 1 Lan Kwai Fong from 14-25 October. You can find everything you need to donate right here.

After Get Redressed Month, Redress will be hosting their first-ever 24-hour Sort-a-Thon to sort and redistribute all of the donated clothes. Redress is hoping to save over 10 tonnes of clothing from the landfill this year.

Get Redressed Month is happening October 2019, and you can out more about the initiative and how you can help at www.redress.com.hk.

All photos are the rights of their respective owners

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of